Build Threads Create a build thread to compile pictures and descriptions of your LR build.

1990 Defender 110 Overland/Build

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2019, 03:01 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 1,160 Likes on 836 Posts
Default 1990 Defender 110 Overland/Build

Well, as many of you may know...my Dll adventures have come to an end (for now), and l'm focusing my attentions elsewhere. Mainly on a new project build, 1990 Defender 110. Needed to step away from the Discovery's for a bit, no hard feelings...just wanted to go low tech/old school. I've been a mechanic for forty some years and watched the industry change, and have progressed with it. But, there is something pleasant about getting back to your roots.

So, over the 4th of July weekend my wife and l drove to Vermont to acquire the 110 (just short of 2000 miles). She's a little rough around the edges, but is very mechanical sound. Former owner had done a 2" lift - coils/bilstein shocks, bump-stops, tires and rims and a few other odds and ends. He also threw in a new radiator, hoses, some lights, HD adjustable tracking bar, tie-rods/bar and draglink. She has exceptionally good bones and is worth whatever happens to her in the future, as far as improvements go.

Her first day at home.

The "real" Deputy watched as l drove up the drive.

Obviously, he was not impressed...

Some pictures...

Hopefully, this topic has a happier ending than the last couple build topics l've started.

Brian.

Old 07-15-2019, 03:16 PM
Camel Trophy

Suspension work that has already been done.

Interior and engine compartment...

​​​​​​​

Brian.

Old 07-15-2019, 03:25 PM
Camel Trophy

First order of business was removing decals. Eventually, fresh paint will be added, so they had to go sooner or later. Plus, l really didn't care for them...and was already tired of being asked what it stood for (which l have no idea).

So, county, county, county, county is gone for good.

Brian.

Old 07-15-2019, 03:36 PM
Camel Trophy