Build Threads Create a build thread to compile pictures and descriptions of your LR build.

Saving my Disco

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2016, 01:12 PM
Mudding
Received 27 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Saving my Disco

So, newbie here (new to Rovers that is). I picked up this 2002 Disco with a bad head gasket (exhaust leak), a key broken off in the ignition and some other problems for $1000. Had spent most all its life in Southern CA, and about 4 years here in the Pacific NW where it had not moved in 2 years. Fixed the ignition in an hour by taking it completely apart, pulling the barrel an removing the key. Pulled the heads, which are getting rebuilt, but have a longer list to catch it up with maintenance its going to get the head gaskets and all other upper gaskets, all fluids changed, new coils, plugs, wires, thermostat, water pump, heated seats added, heated windshield added (old one cracked), headliner redone, third row added, new (used) tires, new front driveshaft, 3 new lock actuators, and3 new window regulators, new bumpers, and a heavy cleaning. Some of the projects are done, some parts acquired, but an ongoing project.

Attached Thumbnails Saving my Disco-disco-drivers-head-off.jpg   Saving my Disco-disco-interior-gutted.jpg   Saving my Disco-rear-passengers-side-area-clean-streak.jpg   Saving my Disco-cleaned-dirty-valve-cover.jpg  

Last edited by emncfi; 10-05-2016 at 02:30 PM.
Old 10-05-2016, 01:15 PM
Mudding

That third pic shows how gross the carpet was, the front had been shampooed, the rear not so much. The seats were about that gross too, but the amazing thing is that with some good cleaners and a lot of elbow grease, the interior came out looking almost new, no real wear, just a lot of dirt and stuff

Old 10-05-2016, 02:08 PM
Mudding
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Head gaskets

Since you are this far into the engine why not do the other head gasket? Some things are better done in pairs. JMO D*

Old 10-05-2016, 02:29 PM
Mudding