Detailing Discuss detailing your ride within.

Easy way to clean faded headlight covers

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2012 | 12:54 AM
|
Mudding
Default Easy way to clean faded headlight covers

Turtle Wax Polishing liquid on a foam applicator pad. It requires no hard pressure. just wipe it on the surface like you were polishing your paint. It immediately cleared up the plastic to a crystal clear finish.

Old 05-10-2013 | 05:06 PM
4wd Low

Originally Posted by Xrover
Turtle Wax Polishing liquid on a foam applicator pad. It requires no hard pressure. just wipe it on the surface like you were polishing your paint. It immediately cleared up the plastic to a crystal clear finish.
Apparently you just had a little dust on your headlights.

Listen up people, I've been a professional detailer for 40 years and I'm going to tell you the one and only way to restore faded yellow headlights...

First you sand the headlight with 600 grit sandpaper, and you sand the living daylights out of it. You'll swear you're screwing them up beyond repair. Then you sand it with 1000 grit sandpaper, and again, you sand the living daylights out of it. Then you sand it with 2000 grit sandpaper, and of course, again you sand the living daylights out of it. And then the final step is to polish it with a high speed polisher with a wool pad and plastic polish.

That is the ONLY way to correctly recondition your faded blurry yellowing headlights. Listen good... there is not one single headlight restoration kit on the market that works, no not even one.

Another secret you need to know is... no matter what method you use, there is a 99% chance that you WILL make them look worse than they did before. This is one area where you need to seek the help of a professional, plain and simple.