Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

97 Disco Finally Started! But then smokes and dies...

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2011, 11:01 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Default 97 Disco Finally Started! But then smokes and dies...

I primed the oil pump and got good pressure so I put the plugs and fuel pump fuse back in. After a few seconds of cranking it started right up. It sounded good so I revved it up to 2500 rpm and held it there. It ran there for about 20 seconds then started smoking and died. I started it again but then it smoked and died. Any ideas?

Old 11-26-2011, 11:02 AM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts

What does the smoke smell like and what color is it?
Any check engine light on?

Old 11-26-2011, 11:06 AM
Pro Wrench

No check engine light. It might smell like coolant but I'm no smell expert. It's cool out this morning and evaporates fast. It's white.

Old 11-26-2011, 11:09 AM
Pro Wrench

Should the check engine light up as a dummy? It never does.

Old 11-26-2011, 11:38 AM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Yes, should come on at start up, then go out. Since it never comes on, you MUST connect a scanner to search for codes, should not assume that there won't be any. Some scanners show this as "MIL Status" on/off.

May also have to pull each plug and examine for color, fouling, etc. Coolant pressure test and compression test may be warranted before going back in....

I know that this is not what you wanted to hear. But before picking up a wrench, plug in the scanner. Recheck connections to crank sensor, cam position sensor, etc.

Attached Files
File Type: pdf
d1 cel.pdf (858.5 KB, 71 views)
Old 11-26-2011, 11:53 AM
Pro Wrench

Yeah I had a feeling what it was when it first started smoking. Some damn gasket somewhere again. I just can't understand what I did wrong.