Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Front End Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2012, 05:38 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Front End Question

I hesitated to post this question because so much good information has already been posted here, especially on this topic but...

I am new to Discovery's and have recently purchased a 95 Disco I. I haven't quite found the answer to my question so I thought I would post a new thread.

It seems that overnight the Disco has developed a front end vibration at different speeds. Mainly around 55-60MPH. It's felt from the front tires up to the steering wheel.

I have a Jeep Wrangler that I have completely restored and have modified the suspension and understand how thing need to be "right" to keep from having these types of troubles.

My diagnosis consisted of jacking up the front end to look for problems with the suspension components, steering components and axle components.

The only thing that I have found is both sides have a slight amount of play in the wheel bearings. If I put my hands and 12 and 6 o'clock on the tire I can feel a little play in the bearings on both sides.

They have not started to make any type of noise that would suggest that they are bad. Can they be tightened back up? Is this enough to cause the vibrations?

I don't want to pay for new wheel bearing rebuild kits if all I need to do is re-torque something.

Maybe swivel pins? I don't think that's the problem because it steers fine and doesn't seem to "road walk".

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 11-26-2012, 07:18 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

Yes you can tighten the wheel bearing nuts.
As long as you're in there why not repack the wheel bearings?
The bearings are $15 each, 4 per axle if you want to replace them.

Old 11-26-2012, 07:31 PM
Baja
Received 51 Likes on 44 Posts