Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Loud Noise when I change from parking to any other gear

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2010, 09:25 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loud Noise when I change from parking to any other gear

Hello, Im new with Land Rovers and this is my first one, a 1996 Land Rover Discovery V8i, Im in love with it, my best vehicle so far. I got a problem when I change gear from "P" to "R" or to "D" or any other gear the vehicle makes a loud noise when changing. Everytime I here this noise I think the Tramsmission if going to fall off!! Can someone tell me what this is?

Old 10-08-2010, 09:46 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

A little bit of noise is normal on these trucks..... You can usually quiet them down by changing the oil in the transfer case and differentials. It might also be a Ujoint going bad or need greased also

Old 10-08-2010, 11:05 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Long Haul
A little bit of noise is normal on these trucks..... You can usually quiet them down by changing the oil in the transfer case and differentials. It might also be a Ujoint going bad or need greased also
X2, and you might also consider going with a thicker gear oil like 85W-140. I did and my gear "clunk" has quieted down.

Old 10-09-2010, 08:36 AM
Winching
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts