Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

my 98 disco

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2012, 05:41 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default my 98 disco

i recently bought a 1998 disco le v8i and life was good, then a month went by and the check engine light came on. I found a P1496 code which was a "gross evap leak" "low sensor out put voltage" "5 volt supply output too low".....so I started to study. I came to the realization that it may be a bad ECM. I found a salvage on ebay that I was told could be re-programmed. My local rover dealership told me otherwise. If in fact it is the ECM can anyone tell me if it can be re-programmed or is the dealer telling the truth. I am a rover rookie and frustration is setting in.
HELP!!!!!!

Old 09-18-2012, 05:43 PM
Winching
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

first things first, you cleared all the codes and they all came back right away?

its very unlikely that single code has 3 wildly different descriptions... what kind of tool were you using to check/clear the codes?

Old 09-18-2012, 06:51 PM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

If you will open up the link below to D1 ECM manual, in the GEMS ECU manual on page 27 that code is detailed, along with how it happens, etc. Basically the EVAP system can't get to a good vacuum in 25 seconds. Might just be a hose.

Old 09-19-2012, 09:18 AM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default my 98 disco

Guys,