Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

My keys are stuck!

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2011, 04:20 PM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My keys are stuck!

Alright, I'm very new to the Land Rover community and I just recently bought a Discovery SE7. It's been working great but I was definitely curious about the CDL, something about the looming voice of the guy at Discount Tire telling me to "Watch out for using your Four Wheel Drive".

So I started figuring out how the CDL works, but my car starts up and I hear a loud beep which I assumed was the gas (because it's almost empty) but I parked the car again to discover I can't pull the keys out anymore.

HELP... please.

Old 01-31-2011, 05:09 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

push the lever all the way up into park, the cable for the shifter lossens over time. you can pop the plate in the top of your shifter off and tighten the nut to get the slack out. tell the discount tire guy that your truck is all time four wheel drive and he doesn't know what hes talking about. read the owners manual on how and when to use the cdl. if you don't have one, google "land rover rave manual" and download it, it is a pdf shop manual which also includes the owners manual.

Old 01-31-2011, 08:35 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

That beep was your neutral warning for the transfer case, when you shift the transfer case into neutral a buzzer goes off to warn you that you are not in gear and even putting the transmission in park the truck will roll away.
With the transfer case in neutral you cannot remove the key.
The guy at Discount Tire does not know his head from is butt.
The truck is full time four wheel drive.
Yes you need to use the CDL once a month to keep it from seizing up.
But DO NOT drive it on dry roads with the CDL locked.
There is a light on the dash that comes on when the CDL is locked.

Old 02-01-2011, 10:58 AM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts