Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

New user

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2014, 08:27 AM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New user

Morning all! Not a Rover owner but am in the process of looking/buying an 03' Discovery. Is the 03' a 1 or a 2. Whats the difference?

The one I'm looking at has 60K on it, great shape cosmetically and runs like it should, no drips which some of the posts say are common. I'm taking a second look today and want to know what the experienced owners say I should check, look for, test........

I'm an experienced mechanic as many of you are and can maintain most anything and even do a full engine rebuild if needed. Have the tools and know-how just needing a new toy so to speak. Not that I'm looking for a project vehicle, had enough of those. Been through the Jeep models but they lack the character of the Discovery. Don't want new(can't afford) and have always bought used for the challenge of bringing it back to it's former great shape.

So, let me know what you think and if I should stay away from the 2003.

Thanks

Old 01-08-2014, 08:45 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You may want to check on the Discovery II part of the forum ('99 and up are D2s). I have found working on our Disco to be relatively straight forward and easy, more on par with working on older BMWs and Volvos than on GMs or Hondas. The D2 models are more complex electrically than the D1, but mechanically pretty similar. I hear to watch out for the rear air suspension in models so equipped, and it is better if you will be using it off road to find one with the CDL lock, which disappeared for a couple of years during D2 production. Good Luck!

Old 01-08-2014, 08:55 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 226 Likes on 195 Posts

The '03 won't have CDL which is good for trails.

Old 01-08-2014, 09:35 AM
Baja
Received 718 Likes on 623 Posts