Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Oil pressure light

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2011, 08:58 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Oil pressure light

I bought a 1998 Disco I last week with 160,xxx miles. I have been driving it around near home for a week with no problems. Today I took it to work (I am a master Audi tech), and after 20 miles the oil light began to come on. I read some forums, and most of them point to a possible loose oil pump pickup. I took the pan off after work (really easy, and heavy) to inspect it. It all looks ok, however I took it off anyway and cleaned it out. The pickup screen was a little clogged, so I cleaned it out in the parts washer. I didn't remove any bearing caps, but I couldn't see any material squeezing out from the caps. I also put a magnet in the pan and I couldn't find any metal.

Here is the situation, the oil pressure light stays on for 10-15 seconds sometimes on start-up. The light is off until the engine gets really hot (20 miles), and then the light only turns on when I press the gas. It doesn't matter how hard either. It only takes a light application and the light turns right on. It turns off immediately when I take my foot off the gas. I also changed the pcv hoses, the little plastic guy (seperator) in the pass side V/C was clogged solid. I had to drill it out. There is also a weird howling noise that comes from the passenger side that starts at 70 and goes away at 80. The light turns off when the noise goes away, but it may be coincidence due to the engine speed. Also, the knock sensor is broken on the pass side head, is this related?