Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Used Discovery

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2014, 05:29 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Used Discovery

Hi all,

I would like to start off saying I am new to these forums and thus still working my way around them, so bear with me if necessary!

Anyway, I am a college student looking at purchasing a car, and I really like the Discovery Series 1's. My other option, to be completely honest, is an old Audi quattro (80, 90, 4000, 100, etc.), but considering how hard these old Audi's are becoming to find, I am not entirely set on it.

I like the bombproof reliability of the 5 cylinders in the old Audis, and most of them came with a 5-speed. However, I have been doing some reading about the first-gen Disco's (is it okay to call them that? ), and, from what I have been able to find, they seem to be some pretty tough rigs.

Although I am aware that 5-speed versions did exist (I think I have seen one), they don't seem to be entirely common. What I see most is the 4-speed ZF 4HP22 in most of the vehicles I have come across.

Considering that I have read nothing but great things about the 3.9 Rover V8, my main concern in these would be the automatic, as that seems to be the next weakest link. What is everyone's experience with it? I have heard both sides when it comes to ZF. We had an original Audi allroad with a ZF box that had to be replaced after 60k miles, but other folks have seen theirs reach 200k miles with no issues. So, how does the 4HP22 fare in the Discovery's? I see there is a water-to-oil cooler that comes factory, so I would likely put an air-to-oil cooler on as well, just to be safe.

My budget is around $3,000, but I would like to stay in the low-to-mid $2,000 range. What do you guys think?

Thanks, and sorry for the long post!

Old 01-15-2014, 05:34 PM
3rd Gear