Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

03 Discovery Strong A/C Whining at night

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2011, 07:37 PM
Winching
Received 23 Likes on 16 Posts
Default 03 Discovery Strong A/C Whining at night

This is strange... Im new to my 03 Discovery 4.6 with 83k and after I purchased it with mild stumble at idle the dealer said was bad coil so replaced it and wires... well its MUCH better but still have a miss... on side of cylinder #2 but only code now once resetting so far shows P1535 which I discussed on another thread here and apparently an a/c issue.. anyway.. I hear the groan and whine only a little in the daytime but at night is is very loud sounds allot like steering pump but I did the hose to ear test and definitely hear it from A/C compressor... A/C works great but I don't think I ever see the clutch disengage... and then of course that code... is this the a/C compressor or something else being at night even here in south florida same temperature, its much louder to point you don't want to drive it at night... not to mention, the added 3 amigos showing up only when turning on headlights and using LEFT signal...

Old 10-23-2011, 08:11 PM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts

Wonder if you AC refrigerant charge is correct, a low charge can make a unit run longer and longer...

Also, the AC fan inside the truck has variable speed, are you sure noise not from there? The sunlight sensors make it change speed from day to night.

If you have two un-related electrical things causing 3 Amigos, you may have damaged wiring, skinned wiring, moisture in connectors or fuse blocks, etc. Something is providing the electrical path....

Time for some serious time with the RAVE.

Old 10-23-2011, 09:55 PM
Winching