Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1st place for self inflicted stupidity, coolant system issue now

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2013, 05:25 PM
8th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1st place for self inflicted stupidity, coolant system issue now

Hello all. Ive been on this forum many times but this is my first time posting here. This is my 2nd land rover & I love these vehicles. Bought my first 1, 98 disco I, after getting out of the military. I was missing driving all the Military & Infantry vehicles. I used to get to drive. I've read many posts and thanks to all who share there knowledge as it has been of great help careing for my last ride. If anyone has any thoughts and suggestions on my current self inflicted issue I would greatly appreciate it. I just got a Rover, 2001 Disco II this time, but really screwed up big time and quite concerned. I had it shipped up from down south but never thought to test the coolant mix first. I live in very cold area. When the vehicle arrived I saw that the coolant resevoir was really low, I topped it off and started the vehicle I quickly realized the cooling system was frozen and shut it off. I didnt drive it, and thawed it completely out in my warm garage over night. It started right up and cooling system is flowing now. The vehicle temp is normal and no overheating. I only drove it for 1/4 mile. I did notice there are a few drops of antifreeze that are coming out from around hose claps and a little dripping on the ground behind the passenger tire area. Also a gushing sound from the passanger dash area when vehicle is in idle. I'm assuming because the system is still a little low and I'm assuming it needs bled now. The fluid in the over flow resevoir has slight movement in it also wehn vehicle is ideling. I was hoping it was just do to the coolant returning from the bottom hose of the radiator. Im till wondering where all the coolant went before it arrived frozen.