Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2000 Cosmetic Fixes & Questions (NooBie)

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2010, 11:12 PM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2000 Cosmetic Fixes & Questions (NooBie)

Hello everyone!
I'm all kinds of new to the Land Rover world, but i'm telling ya, I LOVE IT! I got a pretty good deal on my D2, but didn't notice some things at the dealer that needed to be fixed. They shouldn't be too bad, but I'm not a mechanic or anything by any means. Its starting to frustrate me because it seems every day I find another thing I want to fix. I'm hoping maybe some of you have had these issues before whom have fixed them and can share your experiences. Heres the list:

Front mud flaps: Bolts holding them onto the metal are completely rusted out and are just hanging by the plastic! I figured I'd buy some 1/4' steel plates and weld them on, drill some holes and bolt them back on... presto. I'm having a hard time finding a local place to get the steel, but I found www.metalsdepot.com online atleast.

Passenger Fog Lamp: Just noticed this evening that it is sitting further inside the plastic than the driver side lamp. I almost thought it was broken when i first saw it and I can't believe I didn't see this at the dealership. I crawled underneath to see whats going on and looks like the bracket could be bent forward to bring it back flush with the plastic. Don't know how complicated this may get

Interior: It's hard for me to describe... I might have to take a picture of it. The trim or w/e on the driver side thats right by the windshield is wobbly. I was touching the black little thing on there thinking it might be a speaker and it was wobbling... great... I don't know the first thing about taking the paneling off the dash, and don't really want to crack anything. It seems like its probably just a loose screw, which sucks cuz you can't get to it without removing something atleast.