Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Adding in the tow package

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2013, 08:04 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Adding in the tow package

Like I don't have enough money pits around, I'm thinking of picking up a boat lol. I'm confused as to what I would need for towing with the 04 though. I see varying info. It does look like the truck was ever used to tow, and I'm not sure what is there from the factory. Besides throwing the hitch and ball into the receiver, what is needed for the harness? It would be a trailer with surge brakes.
I'm new to towing in general, so very in the dark here. Also, it would be very short distances with the Disco. Long tows I would use the MDX like when we go to Florida.

Old 05-20-2013, 08:38 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

There are a couple ways to add the lighting connection:

1) Do it yourself and patch into the correct wires in the right rear tail light with a universal 4 plug flat you can buy from Wall-mart for around $40 I believe. You will need to use the wiring diagram/colors from RAVE to get the correct wires and splice in the pigtail ends on the trailer light adapter. Universal wiring kit also available on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Hopkins-46155-.../dp/B0002Q8036

Here is a link on installing the Univeral wiring kit with pictures. http://www.discoweb.org/trailerwire/index.htm

2) There is a kit that plugs into the factory LR proprietary plug up behind that same right rear tail light that makes it plug and play. AB has it but it is a bit more cash at $100, and there is an instruction video here as well. Land Rover Trailer Wiring Kit (Same Fit As Genuine Part # HIL-734)

LAND ROVER Tail Light Wiring
GREEN with WHITE Stripe RIGHT TURN
GREEN with RED Stripe LEFT TURN
RED with ORANGE Stripe TAIL/PARK
GREEN With PURPLE Stripe BRAKE
BLACK WIRE GROUND