Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice and Opinions on Undercarriage Guards

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2009, 05:04 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice and Opinions on Undercarriage Guards

Howdy. I am a new 2000 Disco II owner and new to the forum. I am in the process of adding off road accs, but freely admit I have no experience in it, but can't wait to learn. In this tyro's mind, I would like to guard as much off the items underneath the vehicle as possible, but don't know if that is overkill. Is it better to get sliders and forgo some of the undercarriage guards? I am definitely wanting to get an ARB bumper or other Off road bumper. Rovertym? I can't afford a tank, so I thought I would turn this into one, plus tanks don't have leather. Any thoughts, guidance, or wake up comments would be appreciated. Thanks.

[IMG]local://upfiles/13045/72CC2DE89E5E4AED87D4238D38EE9090.jpg[/IMG]

Old 01-22-2009, 05:18 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Default RE: Advice and Opinions on Undercarriage Guards

As far as protection goes, I'd always recommend a HD bumper as you said, ARBs are OK, but they restrict your approach angle even more than the stock bumper, and some people say they aren't the strongest you can get. Rovertym is great, hicountryoffroad looks to be very strong, and the price is right, but some people have said that they don't look too clean. I'll be getting a HCOR bumper anyway.

If you're really paranoid about smashing something on a rock you could get diff guards and a steering guard (usually easily made on your own if you have access to a welder). Other than that and rock sliders you shouldn't need too much more protection. Here in NJ we have nothing but mud pits so I'm just getting a bumper, I won't see much use for diff/steering guards till I get out to Moab in a few years.