Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another Overheating thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2011, 09:51 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Another Overheating thread

Hi, I am new to Land Rovers so please go easy on my, right now I have 2 late 90's volvo sedans and do all the maintenance my self - some has been pretty extensive.

I am looking into an 01 Disco 2 with 105k on it. It has the common problem of overheating. The seller said his mechanic changed the headgasket along with some other stuff, but after half hour of driving it starts to over heat. His mechanic did a smoke test (not sure why he didnt do a pressure test or leak down - unless smoke test is anther name for those) and found nothing.

The truck is in good shape otherwise and everything else is in good working order.

I dont mind taking this on as a project with one exception - I dont really want to deal with a cracked block.

From some other threads around here people have said mentioned somethign like this is worth about $1k.

What are your feeling guys - I am kind of clueless in the Land Rover world.

Also is there any way to get better mileage out of these - my volvos get close to 30 mpg on the highway

Old 01-15-2011, 10:19 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 35 Likes on 35 Posts

Hard to say what it might be but, a cracked block I believe will overheat very quickly because it is actual combustion gasses that get directly into the coolant and heat it rapidly. I don't know for sure but I think a half an hour of driving it seems to me to be more like a bad thermostat or a bad coolant cap on the recovery tank. Both of which get eaten up by the coolant itself (if the truck has dex-cool in it, which I believe is what they come with but not positive.if it's orange, it's dex-cool).

Old 01-15-2011, 10:29 PM
Three Wheeling

Thanks for the input

Old 01-15-2011, 10:39 PM
Recovery Vehicle