Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Any way to carry a winch without a new bumper?

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2007, 12:24 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Any way to carry a winch without a new bumper?

Just wanted to know, is there any way to be able to carry a winch when off-roading, without having to change bumpers?

I'm new to this, and want to start off on some light trails (logging roads, dirt roads, well worn ATV/Truck trails, etc.) But, I think it would be prudent to have a winch, particularly if I'm out there without another vehicle around.

I wouldn't want to spent the time/money/etc to put on a big winchmount bumper and all that, at least not right away. Is there any way to get a winch to mount with the stock front bumper?

How about having a removable winch mount that plugs into the trailer hitch reciever?

Or, in this kind of a situation, is a come-along more realistic?

I've used come-alongs to winch race cars onto trailers, but don't know if they'd work for a 5000lb truck?

Old 12-19-2007, 12:29 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Any way to carry a winch without a new bumper?

Not sure your year but unless you have ajh "engineer" you one you probably won't find one for sale. The stock bumper would probably get warped and crack under that kind of a load.Best to go with an ARB bull bar, but after you install heavy duty OME springs/shocks.

Old 12-19-2007, 01:12 PM
Drifting

You can get a reciever mounted winch plate and put whatever you want back there.

Up front, without creating a mount of some sort, there is no way to put a winch there. Get a $45 come-a-long and you're good to go, should be fine considering what you've described. IMHO

edit: You could fabricate a front reciever with relative ease and in fact you could also fabricate the reciever plate for the winch as well.

Old 12-19-2007, 01:35 PM
Mudding