Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Axle Seal Leak?

Old 09-02-2014, 05:40 PM
Mudding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Axle Seal Leak?

Hey guys going on my yearly fishing trip to Maine, all told about 1,100 miles. I just had to replace my steering pump and when we were under the truck, saw this...I think this is just the seal leaking.

I looked at the rave and from what i can tell you just remove the wheel, rotor and the the 4 bolts to get to the seal? Is that right or do you need to pull the axle out? I am new to this, never done anything like it before so go easy on me. Also, are there any special tools needed to put it back? It mentions some kind of a tool that sets the seal, not sure if that is just a normal tool or something LR specific.

Attached a pic of the leak. Please let me know so i can get to work on it, she is my DD so hopefully its not a huge mess

Attached Thumbnails Axle Seal Leak?-axle.jpg  
Old 09-02-2014, 05:59 PM
Received 368 Likes on 344 Posts

Originally Posted by RegT
Hey guys going on my yearly fishing trip to Maine, all told about 1,100 miles. I just had to replace my steering pump and when we were under the truck, saw this...I think this is just the seal leaking.

I looked at the rave and from what i can tell you just remove the wheel, rotor and the the 4 bolts to get to the seal? Is that right or do you need to pull the axle out? I am new to this, never done anything like it before so go easy on me. Also, are there any special tools needed to put it back? It mentions some kind of a tool that sets the seal, not sure if that is just a normal tool or something LR specific.

Attached a pic of the leak. Please let me know so i can get to work on it, she is my DD so hopefully its not a huge mess