Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake Pad suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2011, 01:50 PM
Winching
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake Pad suggestions

I think I am in need of brake pads and would like to know what do you people recommend. I would also like to know how many miles do your brake pads usually last. I know that it varies depending on the driver, driving conditions and load, I just want to have a rough idea. The brake pads that I have now are TWR and have lasted 3 years/23,000 miles. 23,000 miles doesn't seem to me like much but maybe it is normal for a Land Rover. I am an easy driver and on my Volvo I usually get 40,000-50,000 miles out of the brake pads.

Old 04-14-2011, 02:55 PM
TReK
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I have Akebono's up front and like them a lot. Ceramic so there isn't much dust, good stopping power.

Old 04-14-2011, 05:11 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

i just did the same. i have new rotors all around, and full set of F/R Akebono pads. i like them a lot so far. quiet and no dust i got them from Advance Auto

Old 04-14-2011, 05:15 PM
Rock Crawling

Changed al the rotors and slapped on Akebono pads. Been day and night difference ever since.

Old 04-14-2011, 05:26 PM
Winching

Well, I guess it's Akebono so far. Do the rotors have to be changed every time the pads are changed. I changed the rotors the last time the pads were changed.

Old 04-14-2011, 08:15 PM
Rock Crawling

Originally Posted by buick215
Well, I guess it's Akebono so far. Do the rotors have to be changed every time the pads are changed. I changed the rotors the last time the pads were changed.
I only changed my Rotors due to wanting to start over fresh and the fact the PO said they had never been done, but the Akebono's will not let you down. They are all over amazon and at a pretty good price. Best of luck

Old 04-14-2011, 08:39 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts