Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Cam Shaft/Air Brake Modular

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2008, 07:17 PM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cam Shaft/Air Brake Modular

I'm new to Land Rover having driven Cheve's all my life. I love her, she looks good and the a/c and radio work. I bought an 03 Discovery II S with 39k in april of 06 after my blazer literally blew up leaving the office. To date, I have had only one problem and that was a door latch/actuator broken. I now have 72k miles and have 3k left on the warranty. I have been told that it is guarented (bymy sales guy at the dealership)the cam shaft and air brake moduler will fail b/w 75-90k mile marker. My sales rep is great but I thougt I would get another opinion since the extra warranty from LR is up to 100k miles for $2400. not cheap but I hear having these items fail w/o warranty is near $4,500.

Any thoughts anyone would have would be great. Also, if anyone knows where to find good parts for LR in ATL that is just as good.

Happy Hunting,

Matt (one proud owner)

Old 01-30-2008, 07:24 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default RE: Cam Shaft/Air Brake Modular

I don't even know WTF an air brake moduler is... Cam shafts are storng, I haven't heard of a cam failing.

Early production 2003 models had bad oil pumps, and the u-joints in the double cardan joint are prone to failure, as they are not serviceable. Maybe he was talking about the ABS modulator? They don't fail as often as the dealer would like you to believe. Most times, you get the 3 amigos (do a search on here) that is set off by a dirty wheel sensor. The dealer will want to replace the shuttle valve.

If you are not too mechanical, I would suggest the warranty...

Old 01-30-2008, 07:48 PM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts

With todays costs, an extended warranty is worth while.