Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Changing Spark Plug Wires

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2009, 10:31 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Changing Spark Plug Wires

How difficult can this be? When I had my (non-LR) mechanic do the 60K he said it was a major pain and that the wires were fine - he just did the plugs. Well, the truck is mis-firing again (300 miles later) so I opened the hood and ran the truck in the garage at night and I can SEE the sparks coming out of the wires, especially when the truck is cold.

Now, I am just a mechanical engineer which means I don't know a whole lot about electricity, but I do know it's best kept INSIDE the wire. :-)

So I called the LR service advisor today and he told me that the intake manifold has to come off to change the wires - which really ticks me off because I had intake gaskets done last summer with 57k on the truck and dammit they coulda advised me to change the wires then .... but that's typical of LR service .... ie do all you can to squeeze the most $$ out of the customer.

But I digress.

How hard is it to change these wires? Last thing I changed wires on was a 350 Chevy and this ain't the same animal. I have not poked around the aft end of the engine where the wires come off of the coil, but it looks pretty tight.

Anyone have a technique / trick for this so I can do this myself and avoid what's looking like another $1,000 repair bill?

Thanks,
Bob

Old 03-16-2009, 10:55 AM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

Well they did mention to change the plug wires last year because you didnt need them and they were doing you a favor by not taking your money at that time.
Could they have maybe mentioned it? Yes.
Do a search for "how to change plug wires without removing the IM" because you are supposed to remove the intake plenum.
But you can do it without doing that.
Apex performance sells the Magnecor plug wires that DiscoMike recommends.