Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Considering a Discovery

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2008, 09:30 PM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Considering a Discovery

Hey guys. I'm 16 years old and i'm looking for my first car. I really like the look of the discovery, but i dont know too much information on them. I really like the '99 version. But i'm not sure if i'll like the the newer versions better. If yall have any input on this it would be greatly appreciated. What year should i get? Should i get a I or II? Ive heard theres like SE and HSE versions, what are the differences ? And if i do get one, what modifications should i make to it? I'm not good with working on cars myself, so i would have to pay someone to do it. Basically, any information or advice yall have would be appreciated.

Old 10-05-2008, 09:58 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts
Default RE: Considering a Discovery

Well a DI would be cheaper to maintain. However if you can not do the work or are not willing to learn then you dont want a Land Rover.
All Land Rovers REQUIRE premium gas.
Do a search on this forum for "noob" and "looking to buy".
Bottom line though, if you cannot work on the truck yourself you will not beable to afford to drive it. 98% of the repairs can be done by a shade tree mechanic.

Old 10-05-2008, 10:08 PM
8th Gear

get a 99 d1 if you have the opportunity. Remember that it will cost 80 bucks to fill the tank and get 300 miles out of it.

They are fun to drive off road. If you have anyone in your neighborhood that owns one, become their friend. Do some research. Know what you are getting in to. It is a commitment...

I got mine when I was 32 and it is a strain on my pocketbook because I want it tip top.

Get the maintenance history on the truck and get knowledgeable before you jump off the cliff. (But know that you can crawl back up the cliff in your rover...

Old 10-05-2008, 10:19 PM
7th Gear