Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Contemplating a 2000 disco

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2013, 02:41 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Contemplating a 2000 disco

Foreword: i understand it is very difficult to make speculations and opinions for a car youve never seen but please chime in with anything as i am new to disco's and almost any insight is better than what i currently possess.

Hey there guys, I have a quick question for all the rover experts here. I'm contemplating buying a 2000 disco. Everything looks to be in good order with it and it only has 89k miles. It looks like the heads are new and the valve cover gaskets are pliable and seem to be new as well. There is a slight ticking sound from somewhere in the engine bay, and what I've come to learn is called the three amigos, on the dash. Other than that it seems in good running order. My long winded and very newb question is basically for 5500 does this seem like a decent buy? And more importantly is there anything else in particular I should look for that might be wrong with it? Thank you all for your time.

Old 10-02-2013, 03:47 PM
Mudding

I don't know where you are but that seems like a little more than I'd want to be into a disco for.. 4k would be my top.. you'll have to sink money into it no matter what.. what is your budget? some people don't mind over paying a bit to have exactly what you want.. I respect that. if it is what you want and you can afford it than go ahead.

Old 10-02-2013, 04:26 PM
Overlanding

Thanks for the input, im in socal and my budget is/was about 4k (of course with a seperate fund for the inevitable repairs). Ive looking for a month or so and all of the discos ive seen have pretty severe issues (im not looking for anything perfect but these all needed id say at least 2k-3k right off the bat). am i way off the mark and just finding all the bad examples? Or is this fairly usual?

Old 10-02-2013, 04:34 PM