Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

D2 Overheat?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2012, 04:01 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default D2 Overheat?

This is getting ridiculous. So my FIVE DAY OLD (to me) 2000 D2 was blowing coolant all of a sudden out the overflow two days ago. So of course I never let it get hot and retopped it w straight water after she cooled. Got her home, bled as best I could (terrible bleed layout for SURE) and called it a night. Got up today, ran to parts store for new rad cap. Hoses on top of rad a TAD swollen and DEFINITELY hot, pretty good pressure in overflow tank, but ZERO heat in bottom hose under thermostat! This thing ran like a WATCH till it poured coolant outta overflow hose! Ideas? Odd for all of a sudden unless it IS just bad therm? No smoke or smell from exhaust and no white oil or smell- Please advise! Thanks again everyone!!

Old 02-15-2012, 04:10 PM
Mudding

Please know that I am a newbie with zero mecahnical skills.. I had the same thing happen to mine.. I think you have air in your system.. did you get that "water fall" sound come from the passengr side dash.. look into Spikes bleeding prodedure if you havent already.. and from what I just learned that hose on the bottom of the TStat is supposed to be cool.. its coming from the Rad and mixes 10% cool with the 90% hot in the other hose coming down from res.. Its in the RAVE

Old 02-15-2012, 04:17 PM
Mudding

Heres the Link https://landroverforums.com/forum/di...i-23072/page2/

heres another link that helped me out a lot. https://landroverforums.com/forum/di...oo-warm-45901/

PS. It took me more than 2 trys to get ALLL the air out of the system.

Old 02-15-2012, 04:20 PM
4wd Low

Well THAT'S cool- Thanks guys! But why did I all of a sudden get the blowout at the reservoir in the first place? And its still feeling like too much pressure in hoses? No waterfall sound and get HOT HOT air outta vents!