Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Disco II Lug / Wheel Nuts

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2022, 01:21 PM
Overlanding
Received 14 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Disco II Lug / Wheel Nuts

So of course we have the problems with the lug nut swelling / warping / rounding. Now the 27 mm caps on the nuts will only fit a 1-1/8" socket. I have seen a few threads on these before but no definitive answers.

Has anyone bought and used lug nuts with the stock wheels that DO NOT have the cap on them? Yes, we could bring the shop the correct socket and tell them not to use an impact and hand torque them but I want a more reliable and practical option.

I know the threads are M14 x 1.5 with a 27mm hex head. Can you buy other lug nuts that are the same thread and style? I am a lug nut noob.

Thanks

Old 07-30-2022, 01:39 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 847 Likes on 617 Posts

Some people simply rip the stainless steel covers off of the stock lugnuts and use them bare. I don't recall what size wrench fits what's left underneath.

The following users liked this post:
girlfriendboughtarover (07-30-2022)
Old 07-30-2022, 02:52 PM
acg
Pro Wrench
Received 280 Likes on 214 Posts

Where I got mine:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/133585359177

I have not used them yet though. Waiting to find the right tires for my swap from 18" to 16". Will then switch over to these solid lug nuts.

Old 07-30-2022, 06:29 PM
Overlanding

Nice! I assume you're going for the stock alloy type wheels? Do the lug nuts feel a lot more solid than the OEM? Thanks!

Old 07-31-2022, 06:06 AM
TReK
Received 767 Likes on 635 Posts

I have solid lugs like those eBay ones. They work just fine, but be aware that the finish is only plated on so they will rust eventually where the lug wrench scrapes off the plating.

Old 07-31-2022, 10:13 PM
Overlanding

Originally Posted by mollusc