Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Disco problems

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2009, 08:22 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disco problems

I recently bought my first Land Rover. I have always wanted one and finally could afford to get one. Shortly after I purchased it I started noticing things wrong with it. If you LR pros could help me I would appreciate it greatly!!

Problem #1 The check engine light came on and I took it to Autozone and had the code read. It is a P1415. I have looked this up on the internet and it says Secondary Air System, Bank 2, Drive Cycle D: Signal. Is this something the average person can fix? I am not a mechanic by all means but I do have some common knowledge. Also would this be something that would be covered under warranty?

Problem #2 My headlights keep burning out. Low beams and not the high beams. I am replacing the one or both bulbs at least once a month. This is getting old. Any idea what could be causing this?

Problem #3 When it is really cold out and I turn my heater on the heater ducts on the passenger side make a chirping like sound. Is this something anyone else has run into? If so what did you do to solve the noise problem?

Problem #4 It seams like the stopping power of my LR is not very good. The brakes are quiet and they look fine. It is that I am just not use to having to stop a 2.5 ton vehicle? Or should I have the brake system checked out. I wish I could explain this a little better but I certainly have to start braking earlier than I did with my Ford Explorer.

Question #1:Why does everyone choose to use synthetic oil in these? The owners manual does not specify that we have to use synthetic oil. Is there a reason that is not stated in the manuals?

Question #2: Does anyone here have a spare rear windsheild wiper that they can sell me for a decent price?

Thanks for all your help!

Old 01-23-2009, 08:48 AM
Mudding
Default RE: Disco problems