Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Discovery II suspention question

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2005 | 08:54 PM
|
4th Gear
Default Discovery II suspention question

Greetings
I just had a question concerning a 99 Disc II. I have had the vehicle for 2 yrs + with no problems. Lately though i have noticed that whenever the car is parked, it lowers itself in the rear. At times it will do it while i am driving. was wondering if this is something to be concerned about, unfortunately there are no LR dealerships near my home. The nearest dealership is approximately 6 hrs away. Thank you in advance for any assistance, knowledge you can share
Bas

Old 05-01-2005 | 04:55 AM
Rock Crawling
Default RE: Discovery II suspention question

im no expert, but it sounds like your having airbag problems. i woudl recomend saving yourself a lot of time (and asprin) and swap thgem out for conventional springs. they're somewhere at www.roversnorth.com

Old 05-01-2005 | 11:41 PM

Yep,sounds like your air bladders are leaking.This is a pretty common problem with Discoverys and the quickest and cheapest way to fix it is to remove the air ride setup and replace with coil springs.When I was shopping for my Discovery,I actually settled for a 5 pass with springs just to avoid the air bladder setup that comes on the 7 pass.(I got tipped off ahead of time by a LR Tech). From what I hear the swap is pretty simple and inexpensive.

Old 05-02-2005 | 03:07 AM
|
4th Gear

Thank you
i will look into it, i guess now i know were that hissing sound is coming from -). hehe
I appreciate your quick response.

Old 05-02-2005 | 04:50 PM
4wd Low

if it goes out while driving, parked, etc...it could also be your ECU Slabs

Old 06-21-2005 | 11:21 PM

I had the same problem with my suspension. I wanted to maintain all of
the factory functionality so I did not want to switch to coil spring suspension.