Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driveshaft view and advice?

Old 09-19-2013, 12:01 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Driveshaft view and advice?

Here is a pic of the front driveshaft I asked my mechanic to send me to determine if this was original or a replaced shaft.
I am NOT mechanically inclined, Im a Physician with no time to be spending under the hood even though I wish I could. He tells me there is a single grease fitting but from my view this appears to be a double cardon shaft, or am I mistaken? Any input appreciated but he says the shaft looks great for having 120,000 mi on the vehicle. It is being serviced for the 100k major service outlined on this forum and I specifically had him check the shafts as well and grease them if they were greasible.

Attached Thumbnails Driveshaft view and advice?-image.jpg  
Old 09-19-2013, 12:08 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

It is a double cardon shaft... but, if there is only 1 grease zerk, then it needs to be rebuilt/replaced to have 2 grease zerks. One on each u-joint. I had one of mine rebuilt for about $180 and it is pretty easy to take out and put back in... only 4 nuts & bolts on each end. Once I get things settled down, I'm going to have my other second D2 shaft rebuilt.

What I'd be worried about, the drive shaft may look fine, but it's the insides of u-joints that are going to give you the problems. You have an original shaft and it should be updated... to answer your main question.

Old 09-19-2013, 12:10 PM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

it has had at least one u-joint replaced at the differential you can see the zerk fitting sticking out the end.
It is hard to tell about the double cardon, there are not fitting on this side, that does not mean they aren't on the other side and not in the photo.

Old 09-19-2013, 12:13 PM
Three Wheeling

Originally Posted by mattmo78