Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

eBay Thermostat

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2013, 08:22 AM
Winching
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default eBay Thermostat

I just saw a decent deal for those of you interested in changing over to a 180 degree tstat. Starting bid is $20 and the Buy It Now is only $39. Not a bad deal for a new OEM tstat...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/151121771044...84.m1555.l2649

Old 09-14-2013, 09:28 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

Also interesting...there is an aftermarket grey one now too.

Parts Master Motorad 43980 Engine Coolant Thermostat | eBay

Old 09-14-2013, 10:59 AM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts

Not sure what people have against the Motorad t/stat, I know tons of people running them, both the grey and the newer white version, including myself and have not seen a real problem with that.
I am more concerned about this quote OEM 180 t/stat cause when I was a service manager with Rover, Rover never offered one.

Old 09-14-2013, 11:14 AM
Super Moderator
Received 210 Likes on 194 Posts

+1 on motorad. mine works like its supposed to. i read reviews of sticking/not opening as soon as they should, but no issues here.

Old 09-14-2013, 11:50 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 102 Likes on 89 Posts

Mike, you never saw one because they weren't available through your parts department in LRNA.

People don't like the motorad because so many have failed even before installation, vs. the genuine one that hasn't had any reported failures.

Old 09-14-2013, 02:39 PM
Winching
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

I--for one--had difficulties with the Motorad unit causing overheating problems. I ended up going to the inline MOD and haven't looked back. If a LR specific 180 tstat had been available I would have given it a try.

Old 09-14-2013, 03:41 PM
Winching
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by Disco Mike