Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hard Brake Pedal... cause and fix

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2013, 01:11 PM
Mudding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hard Brake Pedal... cause and fix

Ok, so a few of you may have noticed a few of my posts in other threads about bleeding the brakes, and pedal feel. I have some thing's going on that don't make sense, based on my general auto repair knowledge (i'm a decent race car mechanic)... so here's where we started, what we did, and where were at (and I say we cause I have some reliable, non-rover tech help):

'99 DII, 170,000 miles, I've had it for about 7000 and maintained well since then.

1st, the brake pedal initially required a double pump to build up pressure. My tech recommended rebuilding the master cylinder, and a kit was ordered from Land Rover. He rebuilt it and told me he bled the system like I asked.

While this was going on, I pulled the ABS module and affected repair B in an effort to fix the tres amigo's.

The result was a truck that was impossible to stop. Both feet were required to get the pedal to work.

It was then determined that the brake booster must be bad (how one just stops working I will never know, but WTH), so in a fix, I picked one up at a salvage yard

This didn't fix the problem, so I called Paul Grant and ordered another booster (thanks, BTW!) and have installed that today.

Result? Same hard pedal.

What am I missing? I pulled the master cylinder to look at it, but since I have nothing to compare it too, I don't know. There is some firmenss to the piston, but am not certain if thats too much or too little.

Needless to say, I'm pissed. I've been without my truck for a while now, and need it ASAP, so I can haul a few things.

Thanks!
hoop

Old 06-29-2013, 01:35 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

From what i've read, your initial problem might have been swollen (swelled ?) flex tubes or air in the system.