Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Head Gasket gone...how hard?

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2010, 08:20 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Head Gasket gone...how hard?

So I have been looking for a new 04 Disco. I have looked at 2 that I loved. Both are perfect inside and out. Both had head gasket issues. One had 64k and the other had 67k. I've been thinking about asking for a 1500 price cut and doing it myself. So how hard is it?

I have replaced the valve cover gasket years ago on an old Jeep, but besides plugs and wires and oil I have no other experience.The engine was a lot easier to work on. How hard is it on a Disco? The engine compartment has a lot more going on. Is there a "How To" on the site any where? I looked under the "how to" section and didn't see one.

Last edited by skelt11; 01-01-2010 at 08:23 PM.
Old 01-01-2010, 08:24 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

Most DIYer's can do it in a long weekend with the proper tools and all the parts on hand.
Once you get all of the gadgets off of the engine it is straight forward, it's just a standard pushrod V8.
A indie shop can do it in a day or so and should cost $1200-1800 with parts and labor.

Old 01-01-2010, 08:29 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Are there any special tools needed besides metric wrenches and sockets and a scraper?

Is RAVE the best place to look for the how to?

Old 01-01-2010, 08:51 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

No special tools other than a good torque wrench.
Remember that the Queen also uses SAE sizes.
And you will want impact sockets to remove the head bolts NOT standard sockets.

Old 01-02-2010, 02:54 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts