Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How do you change engine oil?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2009, 06:31 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default How do you change engine oil?

-
-
-
I know this is such a dumb question but I've been searching the threads with no clear cut steps. Again, I have never worked on anything before but just recently the spark plug job.

Here is what I did, read the owners manual and said to warm the car then pull the drain plug. My question is, isn't it dangerous to change oil when the engine is hot. From reading the threads, I purchased Mobil-1 10W40 Full Synthetic Oil High Mileage just now and also the K&N oil filter HP-3001.

Also is it something to be aware of that I have the High Mileage Oil for over 75k miles and my truck only has about 70k?

I realize there is a windshield oil change reminder sticker and the previous owner has been very religious in changing oil every 3 months. I past it by 2 months or 2k miles. The thing is, I average no more than 5k miles a year. So the Disco has been running 5W30. Is this a concern? Is it why it has a little hesitation in cold start because the oil is too thin for the summer? Maybe 5W30 is good for winter? Yes?

So I am wishing to have a step-by-step guidance for the oil change.

Here is my take on it, let me know if its wrong.
  • Leave the engine cold over night, not as the manual says, warm engine prior to change.
  • Locate the drain plug, I hope I could find it.
  • Loosen the plug and drop it into pan. Then search for it afterwards?And clean with carb cleaner or brake cleaner? D40?
  • Tighten plug back on.
  • Fill in 6 quarts of oil.
  • Then change oil filter
I need very specific details like Do I get an extra quart just in case, do I monitor the oil after a days drive and to add more if necessary. Where do I dispose the oil without hurting the environment?

I will ask more question as they come up. Thank you everybody!