Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Howdy all! Newbie to the scene. Actually, I don't even have one yet:) But I have a plan! A long one.

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2008, 03:20 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Howdy all! Newbie to the scene. Actually, I don't even have one yet:) But I have a plan! A long one.

Like "The A-Team", I've got a plan. While I'm a noob to this vehicle and arena, I am relatively well versed in the auto world. I service my own vehicles, have my own lift, source my own parts from a few friends at wholesale, and tend to spend my automotive free-time driving my pants off at the local track (open road of course...no 1/4 mile rice. I do all my own service and upkeep on my track car, as well as the respective daily drivers of my family, friends, etc. From F-150s to Lexus LS400s I've seen quite a few car guts.

That being said, I have NEVER worked on a Land Rover. All I have ever heard are horror stories. However, I take them with a grain of salt because I heard the same thing about my Audi TT, or all Audis in general for that matter. I literally pay them no mind because the car is not that hard to work on, isn't a "maintenance monster", and merely wants to be loved and paid attention to. Easy for me since it's my 2nd favorite car next to a 911. So I long ago learned that most people a.) don't know jack about cars in general, b.) don't know jack about their own cars in particular, and c.) want to tell you how horrible everything is with any car that requires an ounce of maintenance or attention to run smoothly (most of the Toyota owners I know. So as I'm sure you all know, Land Rover discussions are not the most friendly and are generally fairly tainted.