Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Love Discovery but don't have one yet

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2011, 08:54 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Love Discovery but don't have one yet

Hello Discovery II forum members. I'm brand new to this forum but have been following it for about 2 weeks now. I've been doing as much reading as I could regarding what's required to maintain the Disco in reliable running condition.

I currently have a BMW 850 V12, an X5 V8 (actually fiancee's), and a Jeep Grand Cherokee V8 (all of which I do work on my own).

I am thinking about selling the Jeep and replace it with a Discovery II. Just like you fine members on here, I too have been admiring the Disco for a very long time but never made the move to buy one (mainly because it's slower than other SUVs I have looked at and the many troubles that English cars are known for).

Anyways, I am not a mechanic by trade but have tinkered around enough to feel confident. As long as there's decent write-ups, I can follow the instructions and get through most jobs.

I read that these V8s are not the strongest and tend to overheat easily.
For now, I can only afford a Disco with fairly high miles (90K +) and I am afraid I may do down the path of having to rebuild the heads due to HG failures or even oil pump failures on the 2003 models...?

If per say the HG is replaced on a 4.0 or 4.6 motor with 100K miles, will it be logical to assume the next big job like that will be around the next 100K miles mark (granted proper care/maintenance is done)?

I'm leaning towards an HSE model (4.6) as I have a boat and though the extra HP and torque would certainly come in handy towing it up hills.

How many of you tow boats with your Disco and does it struggle going up the hills? My boat including trailer weighs around 3500lbs.

Best regards,

Chris

Old 10-06-2011, 09:17 PM
Super Moderator
Received 82 Likes on 79 Posts