Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I was reading the owners manual and..........

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2012, 02:50 PM
Mudding
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default I was reading the owners manual and..........

.........it seems like on the other side of the pond when doing an oil change they like to drain the old oil,put new oil in and THEN replace the filter(p183).I have been changing oil for the past 23 years of my life and never did this.Do any of you guys do this?Also i know every one here likes to use Rotella and i will also use it but i have a new case of quaker state 10-w30 in my garage for 4 years that i want to use up.I plan on using this up put 3k on that oil dump it out and then refill with rotella 15w-40. Thoughts?

Old 04-20-2012, 03:29 PM
Mudding
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have to go to the car and look at my owner's manual. That sounds odd. I looked it up in the service manual and under oil filter, is says to put the new filter in and then add the required amount of oil.

The odd thing is that it says to follow the procedure to change the oil filter before going to the directions to change the oil.

I never looked at the directions before. I always drain the oil from the drain pan, then crank the engine for a few seconds, then I remove the oil filter, and let everything drain for a little while. Then I fill the oil filter about halfway with new oil and I rub some oil on the gasket and put the new oil filter in. In the Discovery, I put 5 liter in and start the engine. Then I move the gear shift through all of the gears and shut it off. Then I put the rest of the oil in, let it set and then check the dipstick.

Just how I do it for all cars (except the amount of oil) and never look at the directions the manufacturer suggests.

Old 04-20-2012, 03:54 PM
Mudding