Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Let’s see those homemade front bumpers!

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2014, 06:47 AM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Let’s see those homemade front bumpers!

I know there are several threads but could not find one like I was looking for so I am starting one. My father in law taught welding at a local tech school for 30+ years and has ALOT of steel lying around. I am a mediocre welder at best but with a master Jedi to teach me the ways of the force I am sure I can accomplish the project. So what I am looking for are pictures of preferably homemade or custom front bumpers on Disco trucks to get some ideas. I have looked and looked but mostly find ARB pictures. I was hoping to get started this weekend. Would love to just buy a new Terrafirma or ARB but can’t justify spending a grand on the truck for a bumper knowing I am going to need to spend it fixing something else before it is all over. Ha-ha.

So post up your front bumper pics please!!

Old 03-19-2014, 08:57 AM
Mudding
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

This is just the sort of thread I needed! After some illegal, no-insurance carrying, non-English speaking lady ran her SUV right into the front-driver's side of mine, I'm in the market for a new front bumper. Mine is broken to bits on one side now (it was in perfect condition before) and the cheapest stock replacement I can find is about $700 shipped. I got some cash from these folks, but still can't stomach spending that much on a front bumper.

I work at a steel fab shop and don't mind spending a Saturday throwing something together. The only thing I'm not too great at is designing something without spending an eternity on it. So I need suggestions / pictures!

Even with high steel prices right now (0.60 / lb. or so), I bet I can make one for less than $100 in material. Anyone make their own?

Old 03-19-2014, 09:01 AM
Drifting