Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

looking at a 2002 discovery2

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2015, 01:07 PM
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default looking at a 2002 discovery2

hello! Let me just introduce myself. I am Jake from Arkansas. I am currently looking at a 02 model disco 2 with 80k miles on it. its one owner and the guy wants 3500 for it. the vehicle looks grand, but alas I am not familiar with land rovers in the slightest. I am a mechanic in the national guard so I do know my way around a wrench. the one hesitation i have on this vehicle is that I hear it is very expensive to maintain. If this is so, what are some common issues that I may need to look for? Thanks for your time.

Old 08-13-2015, 12:47 AM
Camel Trophy
Received 245 Likes on 230 Posts

Originally Posted by jwakefield9685
hello! Let me just introduce myself. I am Jake from Arkansas. I am currently looking at a 02 model disco 2 with 80k miles on it. its one owner and the guy wants 3500 for it. the vehicle looks grand, but alas I am not familiar with land rovers in the slightest. I am a mechanic in the national guard so I do know my way around a wrench. the one hesitation i have on this vehicle is that I hear it is very expensive to maintain. If this is so, what are some common issues that I may need to look for? Thanks for your time.
They are expensive to maintain because labor costs are so high... not a factor for you.

Common issues are head gaskets from overheating and finicky ABS computers.

For instance, head gaskets can be replaced without removing the engine. The kit is less than 200 dollars. Shops charge 1800 to 2500 for the job. I am a lawyer and I could make more money doing head gasket jobs on land rovers if there was a steady supply, in my driveway; I mean it. Highway robbery.