Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking at purchasing my first Disco II just looking to have a few questions answered

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2017, 04:14 PM
Drifting
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Looking at purchasing my first Disco II just looking to have a few questions answered

Hello all, new here. Always wanted a Disco but never had an opportunity until the wife's '99 Cherokee got totaled a few weeks back by another driver. Oh well, no time like the present!

So I'm new to LR in general but not unfamiliar. I've always worked on every car we've owned and don't consider myself to be too bad of a mechanic. I've owned numerous 4wd's but now drive a '02 BMW e46. Much of the common issues with the BMW designed DII are also shared with the E46 series of the same era.

So were looking at purchasing a 03-04 DII and found a few in our area. There's one 2004 DII with 139k that looks really nice (black on black) and has had most of all the trouble points addressed. Rebuilt driveshaft, new head gaskets, new PS pump, belts, hoses, door motors and regs, all scheduled service intervals up to 125k have been completed. The three amigos are currently off but I don't think it has a new ABS module. New tires and clean inside and out. He's asking $5800 which even in this condition seems a bit much. So I have a few questions for you all here:

1) What are some other more trouble areas I need to ask about? Especially at this mileage I'd like to know what needs to be specifically addressed soon.

2) What do you think would be a fair asking price considering this condition? Obviously I know this varies with area, Im in Texas if that helps much. LR's seem to go pretty cheap here but they also don't come with a very comprehensive list of completed maintenance like this.

Anyway, I'd just appreciate any help I can get. Thanks!

Last edited by satxpipe; 05-30-2017 at 06:43 PM.
Old 05-30-2017, 06:42 PM
TReK