Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

More ticking

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2017, 08:27 AM
TReK
Received 480 Likes on 403 Posts
Default More ticking

I recently bought an 04 Discovery 2, 4.6 V8, it has 122,000 miles on it, and it does Not overheat...but it ticks, of course. I've been working on cars and bikes for many years, but never a Land Rover, so I'm trying to figure this out.
The "tick" seems common the more I read.
This has a new waterpump and thermostat.
From a cold start there is no engine noise.
Once the temperature needle gets to almost half way(I assume once the thermostat opens), the ticking starts.
Previous owner told me he used 20w50 oil in it, and it has a 180 degree thermostat (can see clearly waterpump is new).
If lifter(s) were the problem, I would think they would tick immediately on cold start up, but they do not. I would think a crank or rod bearing would also make noise immediately, but the sound is definately not a knock.
Next, possibly a slipped cylinder sleeve. That fits the noise symptoms, except that the engine does not heat or overheat. I drove it a couple hundred miles on the interstate at 75-80mph with the ac on, and it ran great, and still does. No smell of anti-freeze, milky oil, or steam from exhaust.
I *assume* that a sleeve cannot slip without blowing a head gasket??
I am thinking possibly the rocker shafts are making noise.
I know that I have to disassemble the engine to find out. My Ford truck died last week, so it has left the Land Rover as my daily driver. Which screwed up my plans to tear the LR engine down. Now I need to fix it over a weekend.
The valve covers are also leaking badly. I have them and an upper intake gasket, just haven't gotten to them yet. Debating on buying a set of lifters and lower intake gasket and doing it all at once (need a power steering pump too, so all together is easier).
My questions are basically asking for any advice.