Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My Disco is CRYING!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2014 | 07:00 PM
|
5th Gear
Default My Disco is CRYING!!

Ok, maybe not crying, but she is leaking fluid.

Background: She is a 2002 Disco II SD7 with 133,000 miles. I've only owned her for a month and she came in good shape, with brand new head gaskets and engine seals (we had a minor engine oil leak pooling in the valley).

**NOTE** Please be gentle and use common words as I am NOT a mechanic and new to this whole Land Rover thing.

Issues:
  1. She is leaking Power Steering Fluid like a sieve. (As in, she will go thru half-a quart to merely take her down the street). Have had the O-rings (on the high pressure PS line) and the line/pipe itself replaced. No change in amount of fluid leaking.
  2. Since we replaced the line, she now seems to be leaking anti-freeze as well.
  3. She exhibits the "Three Amigos"
  4. Her fuel gauge is permanently stuck at "Full", but if I top her off, she only fills to 14.5 gallons. Is this even a size tank possible?
  5. Needs her alignment done (her wheels are fine, it's her steering wheel that seems off-alignment as she doesn't pull in either direction when driving).
I have no issues with the fuel gauge (will get that fixed over winter), nor with the "Three Amigos" as that doesn't seem to impact performance. I DO have major issues with the fluid leaks. Any ideas? She goes into my trust mechanic tomorrow but I'd like some professional LR owner feedback as to what you feel may resolve these issues.

Thanks everyone!

Old 09-17-2014 | 07:25 PM
Recovery Vehicle

The power steering pump is basically 2 pieces bolted together with a gasket in between. That gasket that seals the 2 pieces together is a common place where the pump starts leaking. Your best bet is to buy a new pump if that's the case.