Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

n00b Jeep convert

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2008, 03:01 PM
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default n00b Jeep convert

Hey guys, I'm totally new to the LR scene. My wife and I picked up an '02 Disco for a song a few months back right before we had a baby. The baby is the reason we sold the YJ Wrangler, and moved to the Disco.

We also just moved from Tennessee to Ohio. We enjoyed taking the Jeep off road (nothing entirely serious) in Tennessee, and when we find spots in KY and OH, we'll want to do the same with the Rover.

What are the key areas I need to cover to make it so that I don't have to worry about mild to moderate off roading with wife, child and dog in the truck? I've already read a bunch about the three amigos so I won't bore you with my questions there (yes the lights are on, yes I'm tracking down the problem one solution at a time).

I replaced the 18" wheels with 16" steel wheels and 245/75 BFG ATs. I'm looking at maybe doing a 2" lift (Old Man Emu stuff), and then possibly ditching the stock bumpers. Is there anything specific that's prone to failure (other than the normal wear and tear bearings/axles and such)?

Is there a decent place to be buying parts?

Thanks for any help. Here's a pic of the Disco:

Old 09-25-2008, 03:10 PM
TReK
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: n00b Jeep convert

On Disco II's the (three amigos ) the Hill Dec /Traction Control/ABS

Head gaskets if you dont change the coolant.
Last is the front drive shaft if it has no grease points change it.

Old 09-25-2008, 03:12 PM
Mudding
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Search and read the "new owner" posts. They cover all the stuff you should look at (drive shaft, premium only, plugs, wires, etc) that gets asked 100 times over. I did too.

Actually, Disco Mike should create a sticky thread for this, with all the common issues listed. Would save alot of effort.