Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need some help deciding which Rover is right for me

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2011, 05:35 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some help deciding which Rover is right for me

I'm new here, introduced myself in the noob section. In brief, I am new to Rovers but I am not new to 4wd's having owned and wheeled a handful of Land Cruisers, a couple of them heavily modified. Long story short, I became bored with the hard core rock crawling scene quite a few years back and sold all of my Cruisers. I am handy enough with a wrench to take care of my own vehicle and perform mods.

Now, with a moved planned into the Colorado mountains, my family and I are looking to get back into four wheeling and need a 2nd 4wd utility vehicle, my daily driver is a 2005 Xterra.

I don't care for everyday vehicles, like J**ps (and my Xterra). I have thought about another Cruiser, maybe a 80 or 100 but I keep coming back to Rovers as they are cool and competent off road.

I just need to decide what I should buy. My budget, under $10k. Must have, room for my growing family, currently two little monsters plus a third on the way. I need room in back for two booster seats and one standard car seat. Something that I can wheel, modify a little, let the wife keep at the house to get around in crappy weather and explore back roads on her own with. Basically the wife's grocery getter with some fun utility added. I know Rover's are a little higher $$$ maintenance than a Cruiser, I'm cool with that as I will perform most if not all of my own maintenance.

What I am thinking;

1993 - 1995 Range Rover LWB. Competent off road, ABS, enough room for my family (I think). Very cool.

1999+ P38 Range Rover. More civilized then a Classic, 4.6l, lots of creature comforts inside.

Disco I - great off road, a little spartan inside. CDL. Plentiful and inexpensive.