Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to Disco world

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2017, 08:23 PM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New to Disco world

Hey guys, I am new to the possible world of owning a Land Rover Disco. I have been doing my reasearch and looking at Disco's to purchase. I found what I believe to be a good deal but wanted an honest opinion on Discovery II.

2003 SE 7 with 103000 miles. Very clean interior and motor; has a slight exhaust leak but is being repaired prior to purchase. Price out the door will be $3500. This was a trade in at the local LR/RR dealer and I am going to request the maintenance records.

A buddy has one that I fell in love with and am now in the market.
What can I expect for maintaing this vehicle. It appears to me after doing extensive research that they are a "mechanic's vehicle" meaning you have to pay attention and baby them. If you plan on just driving it and not paying attention to it's needs it will be a problem.
Advice Please.

Thanks,
Rob

Old 06-13-2017, 07:16 AM
Mudding
Received 23 Likes on 20 Posts

Rob

I've wrote up a couple things outlining what should / shouldn't be considered when it comes to maintenance on these.

I suggest changing the fluids once you get it. I mean change all fluids lol you can learn a whole lot just from looking at what comes out of the vehicle. ex: metal in trans / diff/ TC oil, water in the oil, oil in the water, color / smell.

You should also be mindful of coolant temp. Go to amazon and buy a scanguage or ultraguage just to monitor the temp. It's well worth the investment. You can eventually go with a softer spring t-stat or an inline one depending on what path you choose, but the stock one might just be fine for you

I also check for leaks semi passively as well. I don't make it a task to inspect the vehicle for leaks lol I just take a glance every now and then at the concrete its parked over.