Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

new to rover, not to cars, just bought a disco II

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2010, 10:21 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to rover, not to cars, just bought a disco II

Ok, let the fun begin....Just bought a 99 disco II 7 passenger today, it's got 55000 miles on it. i've been checking the forum here for info on does and don'ts, goods and bads, and the tech section. I see mike's write up on major service, and have ordered most of the stuff on the list from british atlantic and napa. My first question is what else do the guru's suggest at 55000mi. The back story on this disco is that it's been stored for 3 years, i bought it as is fresh out of the barn. A customer of mines dad died and I bought it out of the estate. (I'm a tech and own a service center) I know very little about these rovers, and theres probably only 5 (including other models) in a 200 mile radius. I may have over payed (2000, full load, leather, pwr everything, rear jump seats, ace, rear air suspension, front bar, 16's bfg's on them, 18's with scorpions). With a new battery it fired right up, no noticeable leaks under it, your 3 amigos lit up, and the mil light, muffler has a hole in it, and the frame is quite flaky. Outside looks like new, and the inside looks near showroom fresh. I kind like the odd looking pink thing and would like to keep it if it doesn't break the bank making it road worthy again. I'm here to learn, i know they're quirky rigs, advice on what to go over is appreciated. thanks

Old 11-09-2010, 10:26 PM
TReK
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

with that low of miles at $2K I think you got a steal even in todays market. check the front driveshaft..if it doesn't have greasable zerks it will need to be rebuilt.

Old 11-10-2010, 08:12 AM
Administrator
Received 100 Likes on 82 Posts