Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NOOB here looking to buy 1998 Discovery

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2006, 12:46 AM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NOOB here looking to buy 1998 Discovery

Hi all!

Just looking to introduce myself here, Im looking to get a disco sooner than later and just have a couople of questions for you.
One of the trucks I have been looking at is very clean and has a reasonable price, but the owner states the dealer told him the #3 cylinder has a misfire and this is usually because of a dropped cylinder sleeve. Does this sound right to you guys? Im sure the owner was quoted for a new engine which is why he is getting rid of it. anyone out there have any idea what this could be caused by. BTW the owner says the truck still runs, but is kind of rough.

TIA!!

Old 08-31-2006, 03:29 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: NOOB here looking to buy 1998 Discovery

Dropped cylinder sleeves usually result from a severly overheated engine, and require the Block be replaced. So yes-- in this case you are talking a engine replacement. However-- the reason for replacement is that it will cause a head gasket failure at the "fire ring" but not necessarily a misfire on that cylinder until it is just about to blow. I would have a cooling system pressure-hold test done but also have the Codes pulled with a Autologic or other suitable scanner at a shop and see what comes up. We had a vehicle towed in that the dealer said needed a engine, and it was simply a bad plug wire. I know!-- Dealers are usually much better than this (and ethical) but maybe the top brass put heat on the service manager that week to get revenue up.

Anyway, it could be a bad coil pack, plug wire, or failing fuel injector.

Read the write-up at www.eurotekapg.com under the technical info/powertrain section for more comments.