Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OME 2 Inch Suspension/Lift Installation FRONT

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2009, 11:09 AM
Mudding
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default OME 2 Inch Suspension/Lift Installation FRONT

First a disclaimer. I'm not a mechanic, and I'm not a good amateur wrencher. I'm learning, and that's why I'm posting this... so others can learn from my mistakes, and you pros and semi pros can tell me where I messed up. I'll be doing the rear today, and posting in a separate thread.

Mistakes:
1. Didn't release the sway bar and drop the axle. We got a tip not to if using spring compressors, but it's time consuming and made refit not so precise.

2. I THINK I let the driveshaft rest on a crossmember, when lowering the axle, even without removing the sway bar. This wasn't mentioned in the RAVE, but there is now more fluid coming out of the bearing/seal around the flange coming of my front diff. I'm not sure, if I did this, I'm just trying to explain the leak. The pinion bearings were already going bad like in my rear diff and it was already leaking. But I'm not sure yet how much damage I've done to either the driveshaft or the diff. Any ideas here from those that know what they are doing?

Tools needed:
high quality, smooth release floor jack
Jack stands
3/4 inch socket
3/4 & 1/2 inch open ended wrench
deep 1/2 socket
2 feet of extensions
u-joint for sockets
breaker bar for your ratchet.
a buddy to help.

Floor jacks. My buddy had me using short 10 inch ones even though we had the 6 ton 16" (at the lowest) cause he felt they were too high. I'd rather have the truck higher on better floor jacks, but raising and lowering the axle might have been a problem for us with the front that high.

Support axle with high quality floor jack. In the middle and on the sides with other jacks.

Remove coolant reservoir. It unsnaps easily.