Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Please help

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2011 | 09:05 PM
|
Drifting
Default Please help

Hi everyone, my 01 SE7 Disco lately has been giving me a lot of trouble. A few weeks ago, the alternator went out. I had it replaced along with putting a new battery in. Drove it back to my college parking lot. All should be good right? Yeah right. I went out about a week later and it wouldn't start. Jumped it and it fired right up. I figured that maybe the alternator hadn't been able to give the battery a good charge on the short drive from the shop to the parking lot, so I drove it around that day for a while and then parked it. Went back out today and it wouldn't start again. Auto locks don't work, weak sounding horn, no clicking sound when I tried to start it, nothing. Please give me any advice, I don't really have any more money to put into it, I'm a Freshman in college right now and after those last repairs, my parents aren't eager to spend any more. Thanks

Gavin

Old 02-13-2011 | 09:23 PM
Mudding

You might have short or constant drain taking the battery down.

Do you have a battery charger? Or access to one?

Old 02-13-2011 | 09:27 PM
|
Drifting

I don't have one unfortunately. My girlfriend has been letting me use her car to jump mine. I might have an idea about what the drain could be, although I could be wrong, I have been many a time with this car. I have been trying to convert my car back to air springs (I know, I know, long story) and right before I moved back up to school I had my mechanic put the bags in. Unfortunately, one of my height sensors was broken and so I just had him put the coils back in. It had never been a problem before, but could the sls somehow be draining my battery? I believe I have read something about this

Old 02-13-2011 | 10:14 PM
Mudding

Not sure if the SLS could be the culprit or not.