Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Power steeering whine on 2003 disco HELLPP

Old 02-24-2018, 12:52 AM
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Power steeering whine on 2003 disco HELLPP

Hey all! Newbie here. So I recently bought my disco, and it has a constant whine. It’s not super loud but defiantly noticeable. Came to the conclusion it’s the power steering, but I am not sure what a solution may be. Should I change the fluid and clean it? Or new pump? May not matter, but it is a constant whine, meaning it is always there but gets louder when the gas is pushed and wheel is turning. anyone else seem to have this constant whine? Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Kazarie; 02-24-2018 at 12:54 AM.
Old 02-24-2018, 01:34 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 235 Likes on 172 Posts

I don't know if this will help you, but it worked for me. I've been running Bars Power Steering Fix (binary) fluid for the last full tank of fuel and just bled out the Bars while refilling with power steering fluid. https://barsleaks.com/product/power-steering-repair/

Anyway, it's about $12 to try. In general "whines" are either dry gears from no power steering fluid pressure, a slipping belt (e.g. locked pulley that your serpentine belt is rubbing over), or bearings. There are probably some exceptions to those cases. It's the internet, so someone will point out the exceptions shortly!

So, I'd suggest turning off your motor and using a bright marker to draw a line on your power steering pulley. Later when your engine is idling you can then easily see if your power steering pulley is turing or is locked up.

If the pulley is fine, then splurge for $12 trying the Bars binary product and also insuring that your power steering reservoir is entirely full, not just half full.

Well, the above might save you from a power steering pump rebuild, but that might be your 3rd step if the above easy stuff doesn't solve your whine, IMO.