Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Removal of exhaust manifold

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2007, 01:01 PM
4wd High
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Removal of exhaust manifold

This sounds like a stupid question I know, but what size/type of socket do I need to get remove the bolds that hold the exhaust manifold to the engine in a 97 discovery? They are VERY rusty and I'm unable to tell.
A couple more questions too...
First, I was warned that these bolts are prone to breaking off inside the engine block, is this true? Does anybody know how I could avoid this problem?

Second, let me get into why I'm taking off the header. Maybe someone has a better suggestion of how to solve this:
I'm a student, I live in a small apartment and have a limited selection of tools here to work with. I do have access to others, but they're a couple hours away and not readily available to me.
So, I had a leaking gasket between the header and y-pipe. Broke the studs, as I was told could be expected, when taking off the y-pipe. Decided to cut the y-pipe so that I only had to disconnect one side and replace one gasket and one set of studsand nutsto save myself the $30 in parts. I have a welder here so putting the pipe back together is not a problem. In the stupidest move I've made in a long time, I decide that since I don't have a torch here to heat up the header and remove the studs, I'll just drill them out and re-tap them. Turns out the studs can't be drilled out. I ruined 2 drill bits, took the car to a mechanic who used snap-on cobalt bits and couldn't drill through them. His suggestion was eitherreplace the header on that side or take it to a machine shop after getting it out and having them drill and tap it for me.
So that's where I stand. Any suggestions?

Old 08-03-2007, 01:15 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Removal of exhaust manifold